(transcript available on YouTube)
De-mystifying the Archive
An introduction for new users of archives, starting with "What is an archive?" and answering questions such as "What is going to an archive like? What is the experience like?"
Laura Schmidt, Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research
A longer guide to users of archives from the Society of American Archivists
What's an Archivist?
A description of the archivist profession from the Society of American Archivists.
Caring for Private and Family Collections
A simple guide explaining what everyone can do to preserve their own papers, photographs, and more. (source: NEDCC)
Introduction to Archival Organization and Description
Book-length, in-depth guide for beginning archivists.
Instructional video about care and handling of books, paper, documents, maps, photographs and modern media. It includes information about the causes of damage to books and archives and shows some simple techniques to help slow down the rate of deterioration. There are demonstrations for removing books from shelves, turning pages and opening books on book supports. Also included is advice about shelving, environment, protective enclosures, boxes, repair and disaster preparedness. (Auckland Libraries)
General Paper Preservation Tips describes how paper deteriorates and the steps you can take to extend the life of family papers in your care. Included in this tutorial are important dos and don'ts for the proper care of your paper items. A list of resources is provided. (State Archives of North Carolina)
Why is preserving digital files important? Steps to digital archiving (identification, selection, organization, storage and backup). A list of resources is provided. (Northeast Document Conservation Center)
