LibGuides: Public Health : Find Articles

Article Databases

Since Public Health is an interdisciplinary field touching on a wide range of subject areas, the article database you need will depend on your specific topic. Below are some of the top options.

Top Pick

ProQuest Public Health
This database offers full-text access to journals, reports, and dissertations focused on public health. It also includes content from related fields like social sciences, biology, and business, using subject-specific terminology to help you find accurate and relevant results.

Medical, Scientific, and Interdisciplinary Databases

CINAHL Complete
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Web of Science
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Other Relevant Databases

Business Source Elite
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
Education Source
This full-text database provides scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Google Scholar
Searches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID.
If you are having trouble accessing Google Scholar from our website, you can try accessing the site directly. See our guide to adding OU Libraries' resources to Google Scholar.
Environment Complete
This full-text database offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.