Article Databases - BIO 4970 - Scientific Inquiry and Communication

Best Bet

Web of Science
The WoS Core Collection is multi-disciplinary, providing access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). It can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Find Articles

AGRICOLA
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
CINAHL Complete
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
Environment Complete
This full-text database offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
Google Scholar
Searches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID.
If you are having trouble accessing Google Scholar from our website, you can try accessing the site directly. See our guide to adding OU Libraries' resources to Google Scholar.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It provides tools for tracking citations, creating researcher profiles, and visualizing search results.
Web of Science
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Click here to see a list of all the databases available in the biological sciences.

Database Tutorials

While I am always happy to provide one-on-one training in database searching, you may find these brief tutorials helpful for just-in-time learning.

CINAHL

The Ebscohost system, of which CINAHL is a part, underwent a significant interface redesign in summer 2024. Some of these tutorials are for the old interface, but may still be helpful. New tutorials will be posted as soon as they are available.