About the University Libraries

Welcome to Oakland University Libraries. It is wonderful to see so many of you of you taking advantage of our Library spaces and resources.  

This past year, our Sustainability Committee added new services and resources to further our sustainability goals. We now have a Little Free Library on the second floor (main level) next door to the Franke Café. Feel free to browse and take a book home with you. You may keep it or bring it back when you finish reading it. Please consider donating to the Little Free Library if you have books in your collection that need a new home. Simply add those books to the shelves. In the lobby of Kresge Library (just to the left), you will find a hub of information and resources related to sustainability. 

• Seeds: Inside the card catalog you can find plant seeds that are free to take, including this year's seeds from the Michigan Seed Libraries "One Seed, One State" program: "Mammoth Long Island" Dill. 
• Sustainability Book Collection: There are sustainability books available for checkout as well, including field guides to campus wildlife and books on gardening and cooking on a student budget, climate change, and sustainable development. 
• Battery Disposal: The newest part of the sustainability hub includes battery disposal for students, faculty, and staff that use batteries on campus and need to dispose of them. Just drop them off in the bucket! (Note: drop-offs should be small alkaline or lithium batteries only)

Our motto is “Knowledge Unbound” and it is especially relevant today. The University Libraries’ support for teaching, learning and research is not bound by place or space. Our website is a gateway to thousands of online resources.

We recently launched a new website that contains all the great resources and services the library has to offer in a more modern package.  Users can expect all the most used features of the library website to be featured more prominently. From laptops to desktops and from phones to tablets, you can expect a more flexible design that plays nicely with all your electronic devices. As part of the website refresh, we are happy to announce Kresge Library's migration to an improved Library OneSearch, which supports integrated searching of content from full-text databases, citation databases, and local content collections such as library catalogs and other locally managed digital collections, ensuring that none of our great content goes undiscovered. The new interface has been designed to meet the ever-evolving user expectations for accessing, searching, and using the library’s resources.  Features include personalized dashboards, new ways to share and like resources, modern result lists, and more.

Check out our new website and come visit us in University Libraries. I look forward to seeing you!

Sincerely,
Polly D. Boruff-Jones
Dean of University Libraries
Oakland University

"In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists." -- Eric Hoffer, American moral and social philosopher
 

8/9/2024