Home - MDM1 9190 - Embark: Clinical Capstone Projects

Required and Recommended Textbooks

RECOMMENDED: Designing Clinical Research, 5th edition by Alison J. Huang; Alka M. KANAYA; Mark J. PLETCHER; Warren S. Browner; Thomas B. Newman; Steven R. Cummings; Deborah G. Grady
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; R853.C55 D47 2023
ISBN: 9781975174408
Publication Date: 2023
New 5th edition of the print book is available; no newer edition of the electronic book is currently available.

RECOMMENDED: Information Mastery Short Online Course / OUWB Medical Library
This is a great resource to learn more about the various aspects of Information Mastery and Evidence Based Medicine. You may go through specific topics as they are needed in your research design process.

There is no required text for this course. All required materials will be posted on Moodle (https://moodle.oakland.edu) prior to class.

Resources for Clinical Capstone Projects

Finding a Research Topic and Conducting a Literature Search:

Research Topic & Literature Search - Start Here

Looking for Journal Articles:

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

PubMed Tutorials

EMBase This link opens in a new window
European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. It includes comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Covers all journals in Medline and unique journals not included in Medline.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport disciplines and subdisciplines, including sports medicine, kinesiology, applied physiology, training, sport techniques, coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It provides tools for tracking citations, creating researcher profiles, and visualizing search results.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID.
If you are having trouble accessing Google Scholar from our website, you can try accessing the site directly. See our guide to adding OU Libraries' resources to Google Scholar.

Finding Online Journals:

Online Journal Collection from OU Libraries
Find out which journal is available online with full text.
Requesting Journal Articles Not Available at OU Libraries

Searching for Books

OU Library Catalog
OU Library OneSearch
Searching across many of the OU Library's resources, including the library catalog, licensed databases, and free resources on the Internet (e.g., PubMed)
Finding Books from Other Michigan Libraries / MelCat

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
An online catalog of books and other materials owned by libraries worldwide.

Resources for Authors

Instructions to Authors:

Instructions to Authors / University of Toledo
A collection of instructions to authors from over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences.
Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Publications (ICMJE)
PDF version of the full text of the Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Publications.
Sample References from ICMJE
AMA Manual of Style Online

Creating a Poster:

Books:

Publishing and Presenting Clinical Research, 2nd edition by Warren S. Browner
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R852 .B77 2006
ISBN: 9780781795067
Publication Date: 2006
The Complete Guide to Medical Writing by Mark Stuart (Editor)
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 119 .C66 2007
ISBN: 9780853696674
Publication Date: 2007
Essentials of Writing Biomedical Research Papers. Second Edition by Mimi Zeiger
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 119 .Z45 2000
ISBN: 9780071345446
Publication Date: 2000

Medical Informatics

Books:

Electronic Health Records: A Practical Guide for Professionals and Organizations, 4th edition by Margret Amatayakul
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 864 .A375 2009
ISBN: 9781584262190
Publication Date: 2009

Web Resources:

Medical Informatics for Better and Safer Health Care / AHRQ

Coding Information:

To access coding information through DynaMed: Search for a condition or disease, e.g., coronary heart disease. Click on the result link for coronary heart disease. ICD-10 codes can be located by selecting ICD Codes from the left navigation menu.

DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.

Research Design

Research Manual: A Primer for Basic Research Competencies and Research Projects / University of North Texas Health Science Center
Types of Research Designs
Comparisons and contrasts of clinical research designs

eBooks:

Epidemiology and Biostatistics: An Introduction to Clinical Research, 2nd edition by Bryan Kestenbaum
ISBN: 9783319966427
Publication Date: 2019
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health, 5th edition by Joann G. Elmore; Dorothea Wild; Heidi D. Nelson; David L. Katz
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RA651 .E46 2020
ISBN: 9780323642019
Publication Date: 2020
Studying a Study and Testing a Test, 7th edition by Richard K. Riegelman
ISBN: 9781975120894
Publication Date: 2021

Print Books:

How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, 5th edition by Trisha Greenhalgh
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 118.6 .G74 2014
ISBN: 9781118800966
Publication Date: 2014
Primer of Biostatistics, 7th Edition by Stanton A. Glantz
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RA 409 .G55 2012
ISBN: 9780071781503
Publication Date: 2012
Studying a Study and Testing a Test, 7th edition by Richard K. Riegelman
Call Number: Previous Edition Available - 3rd Floor R 118.6 .R54 2005
ISBN: 9781975120894
Publication Date: 2021

Data Collection & Analysis

Encyclopedia of Biostatistics, 8 Volume Set by Peter Armitage (Editor); Theodore Colton (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470849071
Publication Date: 2005
How to Report Statistics in Medicine, 2nd edition by Thomas A. Lang; Michelle Secic
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RA 409 .L357 2006
ISBN: 9781930513693
Publication Date: 2006

MDM1 9190 - Embark: Clinical Capstone Projects

Contact Us / Research Help

Clinical Project Contact

Submit Your Feedback

Oakland University Institutional Review Board (IRB)

Library Tutorials

Mobile Apps

Stay Connected with the Medical Library

Professor, Medical Librarian, PhD, MLIS

Medical Librarian

Required and Recommended Textbooks

Resources for Clinical Capstone Projects

Finding a Research Topic and Conducting a Literature Search:

Looking for Journal Articles:

Finding Online Journals:

Searching for Books

Resources for Authors

Instructions to Authors:

Creating a Poster:

Books:

Medical Informatics

Books:

Web Resources:

Coding Information:

Research Design

eBooks:

Print Books:

Data Collection & Analysis