LibGuides: Subject Review & USMLE Prep Resources: Question Banks

Instructions for Using Exam Prep Resources

You are required to register for a free user account in order to access the question banks and practice/review questions.

For Boards & Beyond, you need an access code when registering for an account. Please contact the OUWB Medical Library about the access code.

Boards & Beyond - Video Lectures and Question Bank

Boards & Beyond (B&B) offers a large collection of video lectures and question banks. The video lectures, instructed by board-certified & specialist physicians, are grouped in Pre-Clinical and Clinical sets and may be used to supplement medical students’ coursework/classes, prepare for board exams & core clerkships, and help students excel in their career. Below are a few highlights of the resource:

B&B for the Preclinical set includes 440 + videos & 2,300 + board prep questions
B&B for the Clinical set includes 260 + videos & 1,390 + board prep questions
Video lecture slides can be downloaded in PDF form for future use
Thousands of interactive quizzes that prep students for board & classroom exams
Allows students to remediate weak learning areas by providing explanations of right and wrong answers
Enables students to create custom quizzes to map prep according to their unique study structure
Allows students to track their learning progress across all of the content categories or clinical topics and their sub-topics so that students are able to assess their readiness and strengthen weak learning areas.
Includes features like lab values and a calculator to help students navigate practice questions

If you have any question about accessing the resource as an OUWB medical student, please contact the OUWB Medical Library.

BoardVitals Question Bank

BoardVitals This link opens in a new window
You must sign up with your @oakland.edu email here to access the Board Vitals question banks.

An interactive and powerful board review tool that can be used by practicing clinicians, residents and several types of healthcare students. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including number of questions, subjects and more. Included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources.

Registering and Using Board Vitals:

Other Review / Prep Resources

(A personal account may be required for free access to self assessment questions in various resources listed below)

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
This resource includes three-dimensional videos of dissected human anatomic specimens. The videos show complex structures step by step - from bone to surface anatomy - to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
AccessMedicine - Case Files This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the clinical medicine and post-graduate level cases from the Case Files series books in an interactive format. The Case Files expose students to patient cases and is personalized to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.
First Aid eBook Library This link opens in a new window
A series of First Aid eBooks from McGraw Hill, to include First Aid for the USMLE.
LWW Health Library - Board Review Series This link opens in a new window
The Board Review Series covers the core basic sciences and focuses on content for board and course exams, covering material on each corresponding subject that is addressed on USMLE Step 1. Includes review questions, clinical information, full-color illustrations, photographs, and tables.
LWW Health Library - Medical Education This link opens in a new window
LWW Health Library for Medical Education offers a core collection of content covering key areas of studyanatomical sciences, pathology, and biochemistry. Also included are case studies, exam preparation, and Q&As to reinforce learned content and exam preparation.
LWW Health Library - Clerkship This link opens in a new window
LWW Health Library for Clerkship/Clinical Rotations offers a core collection of content for each of the core clerkship rotations - Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Surgery, Family Medicine, and Psychiatry. Contains review materials for USMLE Step 2 and 3, including key general reference and exam preparation texts as well as case studies and Q&As.

Review Questions / Access Medicine
Use your AccessMedicine login ID to access review questions. To locate the resource, click on the Study Tools Tab on the top of the AccessMedicine home page.
Vanderbilt Rapid Recall Flashcards
The Rapid Recall Questions, part of the Vanderbilt Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Curriculum, offer a chance to test your knowledge of common internal medicine and pediatrics topics. New questions are always being added, so be sure to check back regularly.

Subject Review & USMLE Prep Resources

Contact Us / Research Help

Professor, Director of Medical Library, PhD, MLIS