LibGuides: Resources for Research: Home

Finding Articles

Looking for Journal Articles:

PubMed (MEDLINE)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
EMBase
European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. It includes comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Covers all journals in Medline and unique journals not included in Medline.
PsycINFO
This database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included.
CINAHL Complete
A full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to the present. It includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport disciplines and subdisciplines, including sports medicine, kinesiology, applied physiology, training, sport techniques, coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography and more.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It provides tools for tracking citations, creating researcher profiles, and visualizing search results.
Web of Science
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.
Google Scholar
Searches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID.

If you are having trouble accessing Google Scholar from our website, you can try accessing the site directly. See our guide to adding OU Libraries' resources to Google Scholar.

Databases in Education:

ERIC
The authoritative index for education research sources including government reports, journal articles, and conference papers. Covers all education topic areas and is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
Dissertations and Theses
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes materials from 1861 to the present day.
Education Source
This full-text database provides scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - and educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Resources for Tests and Measurements:

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
A comprehensive guide and bibliography to contemporary testing instruments. Contains descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population, and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts.
PsycTESTS
Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive summaries of the test and its development and administration.

Additional OUWB Databases

Finding Online Journals:

Online Journal Collection from OU Libraries

Requesting Journal Articles Not Available at OU Libraries:

Requesting Journal Articles from Other Libraries

Resources for Authors

Instructions to Authors:

Instructions to Authors / University of Toledo
A collection of instructions to authors from over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences.
Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Publications (ICMJE)
PDF version of the full text of the Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Publications.
Sample References from ICMJE
AMA Manual of Style Online

Creating a Poster:

Books:

Publishing and Presenting Clinical Research, 2nd edition by Warren S. Browner
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R852 .B77 2006

ISBN: 9780781795067

Publication Date: 2006
The Complete Guide to Medical Writing by Mark Stuart (Editor)
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 119 .C66 2007

ISBN: 9780853696674

Publication Date: 2007
Essentials of Writing Biomedical Research Papers. Second Edition by Mimi Zeiger
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; R 119 .Z45 2000

ISBN: 9780071345446

Publication Date: 2000

Oakland University Support for Open Access / Article Processing Charges

There are several resources available to help OUWB authors pay for APCs (article processing charges) in open access journals.

Foundational Medical Studies Open Access Publishing Fee Program
The purpose of the Foundational Medical Studies (FMS) Open Access (OA) Publishing Fee Program is to increase the opportunity for FMS faculty to publish in open access journals by supporting publication fees for peer-reviewed and accepted manuscripts in program-approved Open Access journals. Individual grant awards may be for up to $3000, paid directly to the OA journal publisher.

Oakland University Publisher Agreements
Some publishers offer special agreements that lower the open access publishing fee for authors. Currently, Oakland University has agreements with BioMed Central and Cambridge Open Access.

Web Resources on Research

Reference Management

Zotero
A research tool to collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources including references, PDFs, images, audio and video files.
Zotero - OUWB Medical Library Guide
Use this guide to help you get started with Zotero, add citations, and view tutorials.
Mendeley
A free desktop and web program for managing and citing references, organizing PDF documents, locating research data, and collaborating online.