The OUWB Biomedical Image Search Engine will search many BioMedical Public Domain and Creative Common License websites for biomedical images which can be used for educational purposes. The links on this page lead to collections that primarily contain public domain and Creative Commons images. Click "Image Search" in the left column.
Medical Images from OUWB Resources
Start Here! Many of the Medical Library's subscribed databases allow for the use of their images (photographs, charts, graphs, etc.) for nonprofit teaching purposes.
This collection includes medical and basic sciences books, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
An interactive 3D anatomy resource. Users may manipulate images by rotating, zooming, and removing layers to learn more about anatomical structures. It also includes MRI sections, slides, movies, animations, clinical text and patient education sheets..
Non-commercial/non-profit use of images, slides and animations is allowed and does not require any additional permission or license. However, Primal Pictures Ltd must always be credited as the source of the images as they maintain the intellectual property rights and copyright to the material.
ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.
To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
Users may print or download images for their personal, non-commercial use (including teaching) provided that all copyright and other proprietary notices are kept intact. You need to register for a free ClinicalKey account and be logged in to access the images.
e-Anatomy is an anatomical database providing more than 3,000 images of the human body. It provides cross-sectional, gross, and radiological anatomy derived from various types of medical imaging, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed tomography (CT) scans.
Using e-Anatomy in your research or courses needs written authorization. Generally speaking, they grant permission for non-profit purposes: scientific articles, research studies, and educational purposes. Contact e-Anatomy at https://www.imaios.com/en/Company/Contact.
Collection of Netter Reference books that include anatomical images from the Green Books, Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, and Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.
Illustrations in the Netter Collection are rights managed, meaning that when you purchase a license to use an illustration from our collection, you are permitted to use it one time, in one specific project whether it be a book, CD-ROM, website or something else.
MedOne Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is a web-based presentation tool, featuring powerful functionality to enrich and deepen the classroom experience.
It features over 2,800+ full-color illustrations from Gilroy et al.’s Atlas of Anatomy, Schuenke et al.’s THIEME Atlas of Anatomy and Baker et al.’s Anatomy for Dental Medicine.
Images may be used for personal and classroom use only and may not be posted on an open web site. Click the link above to view the Terms of Use for more details.
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
Includes thousands of full-color graphics and charts that can be printed or used as slides for teaching purposes. Can also be used to create handouts for lectures. UpToDate must be credited as the source of the image.
An image-based clinical support tool to aid in the identification of indentifiable diseases; including, dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, drug-induced conditions, and occupational injuries.
You may copy or link to VisualDx Images and illustrations for your clinical or educational use including consulting with individual colleagues, for patient education, and lectures or other teaching material presented within your institution.
Other Sources of Medical Images
There are a number of government and other image banks that are covered by Creative Commons / Openverse licenses. Be sure to respect the limitations of the specific licenses and to cite appropriately.
Use the search feature to locate images with Creative Commons licenses on such services as Google and Flickr. You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link.
Contains over 2,700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions.
A service of the AAMC, MedEd Portal's purpose is to facilitate “the open exchange of the peer-reviewed teaching resources such as tutorials, virtual patients, simulation cases, lab guides, videos, podcasts and assessment tools.” This is great opportunity for faculty to publish their teaching materials.
Free open-access medical image database hosted by the National Library of Medicine. It contains more than 59,000 images from 12,000 cases, including radiology, pathology, ophthalmology, etc. The teaching file cases are peer-reviewed.
Most of the images available in this library are in the public domain and are not subject to copyright restrictions. Suggested credit: The Web site of the National Cancer Institute (https://www.cancer.gov).
This is a searchable collection of scientific photos, illustrations, and videos. The images and videos in this gallery are licensed under Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial ShareAlike 3.0.
From the National Eye Institute. Materials are not copyrighted and are free for non-commercial scientific and education use. Requires the following acknowledgement: "Courtesy: National Eye Institute, National Institutes of Health."
Contains images from the institutes and centers of the NIH. Images are in the public domain and may be used, linked, or reproduced without further permission. Credit must be given to the National Institutes of Health/Department of Health and Human Services.
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine from the NIH and National Library of Medicine provides access to images from PubMed Central articles, chest x-rays with radiology reports, and orthopedic illustrations.
Searchable databases of the CDC's pictures. Contains both public domain and copyrighted images. Images marked as public domain are freely available for educational purposes as long as you credit the original institution and contributor. You will need to get permission to use the copyrighted images.
A search engine for all images produced by the U.S. federal government. Before using any image, be sure to check the copyright information for that image.
The NLM Visible Human Project® has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Suggested credit: Courtesy of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Large collection covering a wide variety of topics, including more than 40,000 high-quality images from the clinical and biomedical sciences. Images are freely available for download for personal use or academic teaching under Creative Commons licenses.
Made available by U of M's Adolescent Health Initiative, this collection of stock photos was developed to showcase adolescents’ unique identities and experiences in the health care system. Photos feature young people of varying genders, sexual orientations, races, ethnicities, religions, socio-economic statuses, and abilities. The photos are available for reuse under CC BY-ND license. Suggested credit, “Youth In Health: Inclusive Stock Photography Collection. Adolescent Health Initiative. Heather Nash Photography. 2021”
Flickr makes it possible to post content hosted on Flickr to other web sites. Pages on other web sites that display content hosted on Flickr must provide a link from each photo or video back to its page on Flickr.
Pixabay contains copyright free images, videos and music. All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes.
