OUR@Oakland: OU's Institutional Repository

**For a published article please check SHERPA/RoMEO database for publisher posting permissions or the publisher's website.**

If you are ready to deposit into an established collection and understand the copyright restrictions related to your publication, or your article was published as open-access publication, follow these steps

• Step 1: Choose OUR@OAKLAND from Quick Links on the library homepage.
• Step 2: Log-in to the system using OU Net-ID username and password.
• Step 3: Start a new submission.
• Step 4: Select the collection to which you want to add your submission.
• Step 5: Review the item submission question regarding the title and previous publication.
• Step 6: Enter all relevant item information.
• Step 7: An abstract is required.
• Step 8: Note any embargo required by the publisher/journal before the item is made publically viewable.
• Step 9: Add as many keywords as needed to help facilitate discovery. A good rule of thumb is five. 
• Step 10: Choose a file to upload. Checklist for accepted files.
• Step 11: Review Submission details, and make any necessary changes. 
• Step 12: Read the Deposit License - this is NOT a transfer of copyright.
• Step 13: Accept the Deposit License.
• Step 14: Submission is complete. All submissions are reviewed before they are publicly accessible.

If you are not sure if you can submit your work into an OUR@Oakland collection, contact the OUR@Oakland administrator by emailing OUR@oakland.edu.

All Academic Schools and Support Units have communities already created and ready to accept submissions.

Some possible collections that can be placed in these communities are department newsletters, group meeting minutes, school constitutions, reports, initiative documents, and other publications. 

To submit to a community you first need to request permission from OUR@Oakland administrators. Email our@Oakland.edu with your request.

The Oakland University Archives are managed by Professor Dominique Daniel - Coordinator for Archives and Special Collections.

The OU Archives collect, organize, preserve, and make accessible the significant records that chronicle the university’s history as well as original materials on Oakland County history, Civil War history, women’s studies, and other fields that relate to the research and educational endeavors of Oakland University.

Please contact the University Archives Office for questions on submission.