LibGuides: LGBTQ Health: Home

Health & Health Disparities

Assessing Race, Ethnicity and Gender in Health by Sana Loue
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RA 448.4 .L67 2006
ISBN: 9781441940803
Publication Date: 2010
Best Inclusion Practices: LGBTQ Diversity by Margarita Alonso
ISBN: 9781137033932
Publication Date: 2012
Collecting Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Data in Electronic Health Records by Institute of Medicine Staff; Jon Q. Sanders (Editor); Monica N. Feit; Joe Alper
ISBN: 9780309268042
Publication Date: 2013
Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient by Cecile A. Ferrando
ISBN: 9780323496421
Publication Date: 2020
Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health, 2nd edition by Harvey J. Makadon; Kenneth H. Mayer; Jennifer Potter; Hilary Goldhammer
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RA 564.9 .H65 F46 2015
ISBN: 9781938921001
Publication Date: 2015
Health and Wellness Concerns for Racial, Ethnic, and Sexual Minorities by Joshua C. Collins (Editor); Tonette S. Rocco (Editor); Lawrence O. Bryant (Editor)
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RA 448.4 .H39 2014
ISBN: 9781118916438
Publication Date: 2014
Health Care Disparities and the LGBT Population by Vickie L. Harvey (Editor); Teresa Heinz Housel (Editor); Gary L. Kreps et al.
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RA 564.9.H65 H42 2014
ISBN: 9780739187029
Publication Date: 2014
Health Issues Confronting Minority Men Who Have Sex with Men by Sana Loue (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387745381
Publication Date: 2008
The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People by Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health Issues and Research Gaps and Opportunities; Board on the Health of Select Populations Staff; Institute of Medicine
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RA 564.9 .H65 H44 2011
ISBN: 9780309210614
Publication Date: 2011
The Health of Sexual Minorities by Ilan H. Meyer (Editor); Mary E. Northridge (Editor)
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; HV 1449 .H42 2007
ISBN: 9781441939593
Publication Date: 2010
Lesbian Health: Current Assessment and Directions for the Future by Institute of Medicine Staff; Andrea L. Solarz (Editor); Health Sciences Policy Program; Neuroscience and Behavioral Health Board Staff; Lesbian Health Research Priorities Committee
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RA 564.87 .L46 1999
ISBN: 9780309065672
Publication Date: 1999
LGBT Psychology: Research Perspectives and People of African Descent by Michele K. Lewis; Isiah Marshall
ISBN: 9781493902378
Publication Date: 2014
Sexualities and Identities of Minority Women by Sana Loue (Editor)
ISBN: 9781489982766
Publication Date: 2014
Substance Use Disorders in Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Clients by Sandra Anderson
ISBN: 9780231142755
Publication Date: 2009

Center of Excellence for Transgender Health / University of California-San Francisco
Provides programs, resources, and services for health care providers, researchers, community organizers, and transgendered persons.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health / CDC
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Health / HealthyPeople.gov
LGBTQIA+ Health / MedlinePlus

Finding Scholarly Literature

Databases:

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Health-Related eJournals:

General eJournals:

Healthcare Across the Lifespan

Children & Youth:

American Academy of Pediatrics Policy Statement - Office-Based Care for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning Youth
LGBTQ+ Youth Resources / CDC
Health Considerations for LGBTQ Youth / CDC
Gender-Diverse and Transgender Children / American Academy of Pediatrics
LGBTQI+ Youth / StopBullying.gov
The Trevor Project
Founded in 1998 by the creators of the Academy Award®-winning short film TREVOR, The Trevor Project is a national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to LGBTQ young people ages 13-24.

Adults & Families:

LGBT-Parent Families: Innovations in Research and Implications for Practice by Abbie E. Goldberg (Editor); Katherine R. Allen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781493951499
Publication Date: 2016

Older Adults:

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Ageing: Biographical Approaches for Inclusive Care and Support by Kath Browne (Contribution by); Jane Traies (Contribution by); Mike Sutherland (Editor) et al.
ISBN: 9781849052573
Publication Date: 2012
The Lives of LGBT Older Adults: Understanding Challenges and Resilience by Nancy A. Orel; Christine A. Fruhauf
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; HQ 76.27 .O44 L58 2015
ISBN: 9781433817632
Publication Date: 2015

LGBTQIA+ Aging Project / Fenway Health
A non-profit organization who seeks to ensure equal access to programs and services for the aging LGBT adults.
National Resource Center on LGBTQ+ Aging
“…the first and only technical assistance resource center focused on improving the quality of services and supports offered to lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender older adults, their families and caregivers.”

Stigma & Violence

Web Resources:

Gay & Bisexual Men's Health: Stigma & Discrimination / CDC
LGBTQI+ Youth / StopBullying.gov
The Trevor Project
Founded in 1998 by the creators of the Academy Award®-winning short film TREVOR, The Trevor Project is a national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to LGBTQ young people ages 13-24.
Surviving an Abusive Relationship / WomensHealth.gov

Books & eBooks:

Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice by Dana Peterson (Editor); Vanessa R. Panfil (Editor)
ISBN: 9781493917877
Publication Date: 2014

Chapters of Interest:

Bias Crimes Based on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity: Global Prevalence, Impacts, and Causes
Marking 35 Years of Research on Same-Sex Intimate Partner Violence: Lessons and New Directions
Bullying of LGBT Youth in America: Prevalence, Effects, and Government Responses
Examining Dating Violence and Its Mental Health Consequences Among Sexual Minority Youth

That's So Gay! Microaggressions and the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Community by Kevin L. Nadal
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; HQ 73 .N24 2013
ISBN: 9781433812804
Publication Date: 2013

LGBTQ Health in UME Curriculum

The Equal Curriculum: The Student and Educator Guide to LGBTQ Health by James R. Lehman (Editor); Kristine Diaz (Editor); Henry Ng (Editor); Elizabeth Petty (Editor); Meena Thatikunta (Editor); Kristen Eckstrand (Editor)
Call Number: Books - 3rd Floor ; RA 564.9 .H65 E63 2020
ISBN: 9783030240240
Publication Date: 2019
Serves as a foundation for LGBTQ health education across multiple disciplines.

Diversity and Inclusion Video Learning Series / AAMC
Online, on-demand video resources on a range of diversity and inclusion topics including LGBT health.
Diversity and Inclusion Clinical Vignettes / AAMC
Short videos with accompanying discussion questions showcasing physician-patient communications in the care of LGBT health populations.
LGBT Training Curricula for Behavioral Health and Primary Care Practitioners / Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
List of professional training curricula on LGBT health.
National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center / The Fenway Institute
Provides a variety of informational resources including learning modules, videos, suggested readings, and more on LGBTQIA+ health appropriate for any level.

OU Library Special Collection

Robert Gaylor Special Collection
Includes more than 3,200 books and other materials focusing on gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) people and issues. The collection contains many titles of historical significance related to GLBT lives.

LGBTQ Health

Contact Us / Research Help

Professor, Medical Librarian, PhD, MLIS

Medical Librarian

Health & Health Disparities

Finding Scholarly Literature

Databases:

Health-Related eJournals:

General eJournals:

Healthcare Across the Lifespan

Children & Youth:

Adults & Families:

Older Adults:

Stigma & Violence

Web Resources:

Books & eBooks:

LGBTQ Health in UME Curriculum

OU Library Special Collection