LibGuides: Anthropology: Finding Library Resources

Find Books

Library OneSearch
Use the library's catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and government documents available through the library.
MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Find Articles - Relevant Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields of study.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. A subfile of the Web of Science database, it provides unique access to the bibliographic information and cited references of all items published in leading arts and humanities journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID.
If you are having trouble accessing Google Scholar from our website, you can try accessing the site directly. See our guide to adding OU Libraries' resources to Google Scholar.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 3-5 years old.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
ProjectMuse provides full-text of scholarly journals and books in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts of articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and conference papers on theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Covers sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, and urban studies.

Online and Print Resources

Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology - (Print - Books - 3rd Floor- Call#: GN 25 .C65 1994)
This comprehensive survey of contemporary thought in biological, social and cultural anthropology sets the foundation for their future development and integration. The principal rationale behind the Encyclopedia is to overcome the division and fragmentation within the approaches of the humanities and natural sciences to anthropology. It emphasizes interconnections between perspectives and sub-disciplines, producing a complete perspective on what it means to be human.
The Dictionary of Anthropology - (Print - Reference - 2nd Floor South (non-circulating) - Call#: GN 307 .D485 1997)
The Dictionary of Anthropology is designed to become the standard reference guide to the discipline of social and cultural anthropology. Its core consists of substantial analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories and methodologies.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Print - Reference - 2nd Floor South (non-circulating) - Call#: GN 11 .E63 2006)
This is an award-winning five-volume set from SAGE Reference, winning Best Reference 2005 from the "Library Journal." '"The Encyclopedia of Anthropology" is a magnificent achievement. It's intelligent, it doesn't shrink from the tough issues, it's very user-friendly and beautifully produced..."
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (Online)
The Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology provides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline which discusses human social and cultural life in all its diversity and difference. Theory, ethnography and history are combined in over 230 substantial entries on topics as wide ranging as race, postmodernism, witchcraft and essentialism, magic and methodology.