LibGuides: AN 1511 Human and Cultural Evolution: Finding Library Resources

Find Books

Finding Books - OU Libraries
Search the library's catalog for relevant books and eBooks. You may also search books listed in the course materials. You can copy the title and paste it in the search box.

Find Articles - Relevant Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields of study.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. A subfile of the Web of Science database, it provides unique access to the bibliographic information and cited references of all items published in leading arts and humanities journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID.
If you are having trouble accessing Google Scholar from our website, you can try accessing the site directly. See our guide to adding OU Libraries' resources to Google Scholar.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 3-5 years old.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
ProjectMuse provides full-text of scholarly journals and books in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts of articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and conference papers on theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Covers sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, and urban studies.

Online and Print Reference Resources

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought (Online)
This volume is a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors and influence of the great evolutionist Charles Darwin. With more than sixty essays written by an international group representing the leading scholars in the field, this is the definitive work on Darwin. It covers the background to Darwin's discovery of the theory of evolution through natural selection, the work he produced and his contemporaries' reactions to it, and evaluates his influence on science in the 150 years since the publication of On the Origin of Species. It also explores the implications of Darwin's discoveries in religion, politics, gender, literature, culture, philosophy and medicine, critically evaluating Darwin's legacy. Fully illustrated and clearly written, it is suitable for scholars and students as well as the general reader. The wealth of information it provides about the history of evolutionary thought makes it a crucial resource for understanding the controversies that surround evolution today.
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology (Online)
International and interdisciplinary focus, including sections and contributors from whole scope of Archaeological study. Includes the knowledge of leading scholars from around the world.
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory Creator Delson, Eric (Online)
"The most up-to-date and wide-ranging encyclopedia work on human evolution available."--American Reference Books Annual "For student, researcher, and teacher...the most complete source of basic information on the subject."--Nature "A comprehensive and authoritative source, filling a unique niche...essential to academic libraries."
Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Evolution (Print - Books - 3rd Floor, Call #: QE 711.2 G79)
Draws upon techniques and findings in the fields of evolutionary biology and paleontology to explore the origins of life on earth and the development of plant and animal species in each geological epoch.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (Online)
The Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology provides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline which discusses human social and cultural life in all its diversity and difference.