Finding Library Resources - AN 3560/WGS 3826 - Historical Archaeology

Find Books

Finding Books - OU Libraries
Search the library's catalog for relevant books and eBooks. You may also search books listed in the course materials. You can copy the title and paste it in the search box.

Find Articles - Relevant Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields of study.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. A subfile of the Web of Science database, it provides unique access to the bibliographic information and cited references of all items published in leading arts and humanities journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID.
If you are having trouble accessing Google Scholar from our website, you can try accessing the site directly. See our guide to adding OU Libraries' resources to Google Scholar.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 3-5 years old.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
ProjectMuse provides full-text of scholarly journals and books in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts of articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and conference papers on theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Covers sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, and urban studies.

Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories (Online)
An accessible, multidisciplinary insight into the complex field of feminist thought. The Encyclopedia contains over 500 authoritative entries commissioned from an international team of contributors and includes clear, concise and provocative explanations of key themes and ideas.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology - Marxist Archaeology (Online)
Archaeologists have applied Marxist ideas in several different ways – abstracting general concepts and ideas and applying them to non-capitalist contexts; and using Historical Materialism to understand the workings of archaeology and its products in the modern capitalist world. In other words, Marxist ideas have been applied to how archaeologists construct knowledge about the past as well as to critically confront our role in the construction of knowledge in the present.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society (Online)
The Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society offers informative coverage of intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide. Containing nearly 600 entries, this resource provides a foundation to understanding as well as researching racial and ethnic diversity from a multidisciplinary perspective.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society (Online)
Provide users with a “gender lens” on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research. Accordingly, the material in this encyclopedia focuses on basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the most global (transnational economics and politics).