Home - AH 2000 - Critical Thinking and Writing - LibGuides at Oakland University

Locating Books

To locate books, use Library OneSearch, located at the top of any library page.

If you don't find the materials you need at Kresge, you can borrow from other libraries:

MelCat -- Search and borrow from Michigan libraries

WorldCat -- Search and borrow from libraries worldwide

Art-specific resources

Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
An art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. A subfile of the Web of Science database, it provides unique access to the bibliographic information and cited references of all items published in leading arts and humanities journals.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA and RILA) This link opens in a new window
The Getty Research Institute provides free access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Rpertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA). The databases can be searched together or separately and includes books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, exhibition catalogs, reviews, and dealers' catalogs about European and American visual arts from late antiquity to present.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
The Berg Fashion Library provides access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion and is useful to anyone researching or studying fashion, anthropology, art history, history, museum studies, and cultural studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 3-5 years old.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format.

Tracking the scholarly conversation

The library subscribes to two citation indexes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Google Scholar also provides excellent citation tracking tools.

Librarian

Katie Greer

Email Me

Subjects: Art, Chemistry, Dance, Graphic Design, Music, Theatre and Dance, Theatre Arts