Books - History - 19th-Century U.S. History - LibGuides at Oakland University

Scholarly Books

To find books (print and online) at Kresge Library:

under advanced search, limit your search to "print books" and / or "electronic books"
See guide on finding books and ebooks

To find books that are not at Kresge Library, use:

MelCat Search
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
An online catalog of books and other materials owned by libraries worldwide.

You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you (Interlibrary Loan).

Interlibrary Loan is FREE for OU students and faculty
You will get articles and chapters within 24 hours
Please allow at least one week for books

Tips on How to Find Books on 19th Century U.S. History

These general overviews of 19th-Century U.S. history contain useful bibliographies and sometimes discuss the historiography:

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This collection provides full text access to volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series. It includes political, economic and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects.

A Companion to Thomas Jefferson by Francis D. Cogliano (Editor)
Call Number: E332 .C69 2012
ISBN: 9781444344608
Publication Date: 2011
Features essays by the leading scholars in the field, Includes a section that considers Jefferson's legacy. Explores Jefferson's wide range of interests and expertise, and covers his public career, private life, his views on democracy, and his writings.
A Companion to 19th-Century America by William Barney (Editor)
Call Number: E338 .C85 2001
ISBN: 9780470998465
Publication Date: 2008
Authoritative overview of current historiographical developments and major themes in the history of nineteenth-century America. Twenty-seven scholars, all specialists in their own thematic areas, examine the key debates and historiography.
A Companion to the Civil War and Reconstruction by Lacy Ford (Editor)
Call Number: E468.5 .C64 2005
ISBN: 0631215514
Publication Date: 2005
An authoritative volume that surveys the history and historiography of the U.S. Civil War and Reconstruction.
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780684805009
Publication Date: 2000
Comprehensive treatment covering all aspects of 19th century history: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life, and foreign policy. Complete with more than 400 illustrations and maps, this set includes an exhaustive year-by-year chronology, original documents, tables and a complete index.

Free American History Textbook

The American Yawp is a free, online American history textbook created by history professors as an alternative to the traditional textbook.

Librarian

Dominique Daniel

she / her

Email Me