Journal Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 3-5 years old.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
ProjectMuse provides full-text of scholarly journals and books in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.

The Journal of American History
One of the leading scholarly publications in the field of American history.

The American Historical Review
The journal of the American Historical Association covers all fields of history and is the leading scholarly historical publication in the U.S.

To go further:

Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. A subfile of the Web of Science database, it provides unique access to the bibliographic information and cited references of all items published in leading arts and humanities journals.

Major Journals

The William and Mary Quarterly
The leading journal in its field. Includes scholarship in history and related disciplines from initial Old World-New World contacts to the early nineteenth century and beyond.

Eighteenth Century Studies
Research on all aspects of 18th century culture.

The Journal of the Early Republic
Covers the period 1776-1861.

I have a citation. How can I find the article?

Maybe you consulted the reference lists and bibliographies of books and journal articles that you found, and you identified articles on your topic. How do you figure out whether KL owns that journal article?

Suppose you find the following citation in the bibliography of a book:

B. J.Bernstein, "Truman and the A-bomb: Targeting Noncombatants, Using the Bomb, and his Defending the 'Decision,'" Journal of Military History 62 no. 3 (1998): 547-570.

Check to see if KL owns this journal (Journal of Military History) by searching the journal title in Library OneSearch.

If KL does not have this journal, you can order an electronic copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Librarian

Dominique Daniel

she / her

Email Me