PHY 1080 - Principles of Physics I

This resource provides in-depth coverage of major scientific and technological developments. It offers illustrated, detailed coverage of the discoveries, advances and milestones that continue to shape our lives.

Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 97th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.

Comprises a comprehensive reference source that unifies the entire fields of atomic molecular and optical (AMO) physics, assembling the principal ideas, techniques and results of the field. 92 chapters written by about 120 authors present the principal ideas, techniques and results of the field, together with a guide to the primary research literature (carefully edited to ensure a uniform coverage and style, with extensive cross-references). Along with a summary of key ideas, techniques, and results, many chapters offer diagrams of apparatus, graphs, and tables of data. From atomic spectroscopy to applications in comets, one finds contributions from over 100 authors, all leaders in their respective disciplines. Substantially updated and expanded since the original 1996 edition, it now contains several entirely new chapters covering current areas of great research interest that barely existed in 1996, such as Bose-Einstein condensation, quantum information, and cosmological variations of the fundamental constants. A fully-searchable CD- ROM version of the contents accompanies the handbook.

Springer Handbook of Lasers and Optics gives a complete and up-to-date overview of this area in one consistent book. All chapters are written by leading experts. They are clearly structured with coherent presentation and editing. A CD-ROM is included for easy search. The book is designed for daily use in the office or laboratory and offers descriptive text, data, and references needed for anyone working with lasers and optical instruments. With a foreword by Theodor W. Hänsch, the book will interest optical physicists and optical engineers at universities and in industrial research and development.

Provides clear and concise definitions for every area of physics--from optics and acoustics to mechanics and electronics, via quantum theory and relativity.