Home - MDM2 9226 - Integrative Evidence Based Medicine

Ask an Expert

Research Help

Ask-a-Medical-Librarian

Contact us by phone, chat or email or schedule and appointment with us to request a one-on-one meeting with a medical librarian to discuss in-depth information needs such as the literature search for your Capstone project.
Ask a librarian

Mobile Apps

Check out the Mobile Apps that are available to you -- https://medlib.oakland.edu/mobile-resources/mobile.php

They include: point-of-care, drugs / interactions, medical calculators, patient education, productivity, and medical student education apps.

Professor, Medical Librarian, PhD, MLIS

Misa Mi

Email Me

Contact:

Kresge Library 130

248-370-3774

Medical Librarian

Valerie Reid

Email Me

Stay Connected with the Medical Library

Read both the OUWB Medical Library Newsletter and our Blog in order to keep up-to-date with the latest tools, services, and resources for expert searching, scholarly communications, data management, publishing, research impact, and more!

Newsletter Issues | Subscribe to the Newsletter

Blog Entries | Subscribe to the Blog (right column)

Required and Recommended Textbooks

REQUIRED: Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3rd edition by Gordon Guyatt
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating): R 723.7 .U84 2015
ISBN: 9780071790710
Publication Date: 2015
RECOMMENDED: Gordis Epidemiology, 6th edition by David D. Celentano; Moyses Szklo
Call Number: Medical Library Study Room - 102 KL (non-circulating) ; RA 651 .G58 2019
ISBN: 9780323552295
Publication Date: 2019

RECOMMENDED RESOURCE: Integrative Evidence-Based Medicine Course Guide
RECOMMENDED RESOURCE: Users Guide to the Medical Literature / JAMA Evidence
Note: This is the extended version of your required textbook.
RECOMMENDED RESOURCE: Online Video Tutorials on EBM & EBM Resources
Login with your OU NetID & Password, click on Enroll Me; scroll down to Modules 2 & 4: Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine & Clinical Information / EBM Resources; choose a video tutorial to view.

Summaries & Pre-Appraised Research

Summaries & Guidelines:

DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical reference tool written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help health care providers in their daily practice. Designed to provide quick answers to clinical questions. Includes thousands of graphics and images, specialty content, mobile access, and enhanced drug information.

DynaMed Tutorial 1: How to Access DynaMed
DynaMed Tutorial 2: Advanced Search Skills
Clinical Overviews / Clinical Key
Select "Clinical Overviews" from the drop down menu next to the search bar.
Essential Evidence Plus / STAT!Ref

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence-based, physician-authored articles and patient education resources to help make clinical decisions.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex provides access to information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, therapeutic class searching, and dosing
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
A database of evidence-based information on complementary and alternative medicine. Includes databases on food and supplements, health and wellness, medical conditions, brands and manufacturers, genomics and proteomics, and environmental and animal health, among others.

Guidelines / Clinical Key
Select "Guidelines" from the drop down menu next to the search bar
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality / Guidelines & Measures

Pre-Appraised Research:

Synopses of Syntheses:

Syntheses:

Cochrane Reviews (Systematic Reviews) / Cochrane Library
Systematic Reviews in PubMed
Search results are filtered to Systematic Review or Meta-Analysis under Article Type.

Synopses of Studies:

Non-Pre-Appraised Research

Studies:

Clinical Queries / PubMed

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's free bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) / Cochrane Library

EMBase This link opens in a new window
European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. It includes comprehensive coverage of biomedical information with an emphasis on drugs and pharmacology. Covers all journals in Medline and unique journals not included in Medline.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations in psychology. Covers the research literature in all areas of psychology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Other subjects such as neuroscience, psychiatry, and physiology are also included.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database that supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It provides tools for tracking citations, creating researcher profiles, and visualizing search results.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Systematic Review & Meta-Analysis - Videos

Learning About Evidence-Based Medicine

JAMAEvidence Glossary

JAMA Evidence This link opens in a new window
JAMAevidence is an instructional resource from the American Medical Association that is intended to teach about concepts fundamental to the practice of evidence-based medicine. It helps identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
Limit 2 users. Please log off when done.

Federated Search Engines

ACCESSSS Federated Search
Searching high-quality EBM resources simultaneously from every level of the Pyramid of EBM resources (registration required)
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
A free search engine for EBM resources.
SumSearch
Simultaneously searching for original studies, systematic reviews, and practice guidelines from PubMed.

MDM2 9226 - Integrative Evidence Based Medicine